East Anglian Devolution

Since the original East Anglia Devolution deal was published in March discussions with Government have led to a proposal to have two deals (Norfolk/Suffolk and Cambridgeshire/Peterborough), which council leaders and LEPs believe is the best way to get the most benefit for the people, places and businesses across East Anglia.

Two proposed deals worth more than £1.5bn have now been drawn up between Central Government and 19 councils across Suffolk, Norfolk, Cambridgeshire and Peterborough, the New Anglia Local Enterprise Partnership (LEP) and the Greater Cambridge/Greater Peterborough LEP.

As part of the proposed deals, two new East Anglia Combined Authorities would be created, chaired by Directly Elected Mayors. If the deals are agreed, elections for the Directly Elected Mayor would take place in May 2017. 

If approved, the deals would see more decisions on areas like infrastructure, growth, employment and skills being made locally, rather than by Central Government - signalling the start of a fundamentally different relationship between government and local public services. 

The proposed Norfolk/Suffolk deal has been endorsed by all of the councils in Suffolk, along with Norfolk County Council, Broadland District Council, the Borough of King's Lynn and West Norfolk, South Norfolk Council and the New Anglia LEP. Some councils in Norfolk have decided not to go ahead with a combined authority at this stage.  They are Breckland Council, Great Yarmouth Borough Council, North Norfolk District Council and Norwich City Council.  

All councils in Cambridgeshire and Peterborough and the Greater Cambridgeshire Greater Peterborough LEP have agreed their proposed deal.